Town of Pulaski Town Committee Volunteer Application

There are six Boards/Commissions to which the Mayor and Town Council appoint members. Please mark next to the Board/Commission that you are applying for. Please complete the full application below.

Architectural Review Board
Board of Zoning Appeals
Cemetery Board of Trustees
Housing Board of Adjustments and Appeals
Planning Commission (Please provide Resumé)
Redevelopment and Housing Authority

Print Name
Address
Is your residence located within the Town's Corporate Limits? Yes No
Occupation
Professional Background
Community Activities
Special Qualifications
Why are you interested in serving on a committee?
Email
Home-Phone
Cell-Phone
Applicant's Signature Date

For additional information please contact the Town Manager's office or visit our website at <u>www.pulaskitown.org</u>. Please return your application via email, fax, or mail to:

Town Manager P.O. 660 Pulaski, VA 24301 Phone (540) 994-8600 Fax: (540) 994-8699 <u>dburcham@pulaskitown.org</u>

Architectural Review Board

Responsible for administering the Commercial Historic District in the Downtown. Appointed by Council for 4-year terms, the five-member board is primarily responsible for reviewing proposed changes to the exterior of structures in the Historic District. Membership of the Board is open to persons who have a demonstrated interest, competence or knowledge in historic preservation. A majority of Board members must be Town residents with at least one member required to be a registered architect. Meetings are on an as needed basis.

Board of Zoning Appeals

An appeals board whose members are nominated by Town Council, but appointed by the Circuit Court judge for five (5) year terms. Consisting of five (5) regular members and two (2) alternates, the Board is authorized to decide on variances from the zoning regulations; hear appeals from the decision of the zoning administrator; consider special exception use permits for structure placement; and determine zoning district boundaries. Meetings are on an as needed basis. Members must be town residents and hold no other public office.

Cemetery Board of Trustees

Responsible for the financial management of trust fund assets for the maintenance, care and improvement of the Oakwood and Pinehurst cemeteries. The board consists of five members: three (3) persons not affiliated with the Town who serve three (3) year terms and the Mayor and Finance Director who serve in conjunction with their term of office or employment with the town. The board meets on an as-needed basis.

Housing Board of Adjustment and Appeals

An appeals board of five (5) regular members and one (1) alternate member, appointed by Council, who serve terms of four (4) years. The Board hears appeals from the rulings and decisions of the Building Official/Inspector and Fire Marshal. Members of the board represent several occupations including physician, realtor, general contractor/engineer, building materials dealer, and homeowner. The board meets on an as needed basis.

Planning Commission

Organized under the state code, the commission consists of six (7) residents of the town who are appointed by Town Council to serve four (4) year terms. The Commission's primary responsibility is to make recommendations to Council concerning land uses issues such as: special exceptions, rezonings, site plan reviews, zoning amendments and conditional zoning. It also has the authority to approve subdivisions and issue street names as required. Additional responsibilities include the administration and updating of the Comprehensive Plan and Zoning Regulations. The Commission meets on the second Monday of the month.

Pulaski Redevelopment and Housing Authority

Responsible for facilitating the construction and rehabilitation of housing within the Town. The authority is authorized under state law to utilize various financial, administrative and legal processes to facilitate and improve the general condition of housing in the community, as well as promoting home ownership for town citizens. Members are appointed by Town Council for four (4) year terms.